brah i'm so over writing my papers im just gonna come here and write my blog posts to procrastinate haha. sooo i've been down on the gold coast the last couple days. surf's been mediocre, but still fun. i surfed dbah the first two days, then snapper yesterday and today. today was by far the worst day ever, it was way blown out by 15-20mph onshores. dbah was pretty fun, but not as hollow as i had hoped it was gonna be. i think all the swell lately has been windswell so theres not a whole lot of power behind it. yesterday at snapper was by far the best session i had out here, it was super slabby and pretty heavy considering it was only about a foot or two hawaiian style. it was breaking right by the rocks so there was a ton of backwash which made the barrel riding really hard, you'd pull in and get exploded inside the barrel right when you thought you were gonna make it out. i managed to fight my way though a couple of drainers but for the most part got exploded. whenever you fell it'd be really scary since it was breaking so close to the rocks, you'd think you were gonna crash right into the rocks. taking off was pretty sketch too, you had to thread the needle between the wave and the point, otherwise you'd end up on the rocks. there was a uncle shredding on a longboard that was just killing it, every time he took off i thought he was gonna end up on the rocks but somehow he managed to pump around the section and make it all the way down the line. uncle status. there was also a whole pod of whales breaching and cruisin about 200-300 yards off shore, they were there all day yesterday and today. i tried to get some pics but my phone doesn't have good zoom and it was hard to time it right. i also met this dude named chance from kauai, he was pretty cool. he said he was originally in indo, but ran out of money and had to get a work visa to save up some money before he can go anywhere. a bunch of guys from the backpackers we were staying at were doing the same thing, travel til you run outta cash, then work and save up, then go travelling again. there were canadians, brits, danish dudes, swedes, and some fobby lookin asians all there. had a couple drinks with them before we went out for the night, their drinking games are the scariest things ever. basically, if you lose you chug a mug of goon...which is absolutely terrible. surfers paradise is a pretty sick place to go out, but all of the clubs were charging some crazy covers and so we were kinda over it. it was packed last night, thirsty thursdays i guess. anyways i guess i should try and be productive again, i'll leave you guys with some pics now. i'll upload them to fb when i get the time...prolly not til i get back to townsville since i'll be kinda busy til then. as braddah kimz would say...outrageous. shakas \m/ or \111/ camoflauge shaka. if you don't know what i'm talking about...check out this youtube vid, courtesy of stebballs yee
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mevj79Rik6s&list=FLkwb-3C5dosqn1ZhkbiyCIg&feature=mh_lolz
dbah!!
right after a surf contest
walking into NSW?? craycray
border btwn NSW and QLD
why is it mick fanning's ripcurl???
outrigger in coolangata?? what?
rainbow bay! so crowded
more rainbow bay
no rainbows in rainbow bay...
peeling rights...wish i had a longboard
coolangata w/ kirra in the back
SNAPPER ROCKS!!! kinda small but still heavy
anomaly boards made it to snapper rocks, all the way from makakilo! cheee
take off zone...super sketch
time to thread the point! better draw a high line
backwash zones
don't fall otherwise you'll get slammed into that point of rock...almost landed on it when i busted a roll. barely saw it out of the corner of my eyes when i was upside down and had to bail my board halfway thru the roll
"surfers code" hahaha brah jus tress!! snake um!
snapper! home of the quickie pro
golden arches...idc if you're called macka's or mickey d's, you'll always be the best post-sesh munchies, especially if ice cream cones are 30 cents!!




























No comments:
Post a Comment